1. Bamboo Series

Join to the community in order to comment, like, post images, videos and create threads.

:)

Bamboo GT AT 50km Range Project

Discussion in 'Bamboo GT' started by SkaterBoy58, Apr 20, 2017.

More threads by SkaterBoy58
  1. SkaterBoy58

SkaterBoy58 Member

Guys

I am looking at a project to get Bamboo GT AT up to 50km range with better power/ride for the whole trip (and keep up with GT Carbon boards )

The stock Evolve battery gets me 20km max with the last 10km crappy with constant dropping from fast back to eco etc. due to voltage sag

The stock evolve battery is 6.5Ah with 10 cells in series using unbranded prismatic Li Ion batteries with BMS at end of pack.

The board is fairly new so I am looking at using the stock 6.5Ah battery with another battery added to extend the range .

Being an engineer I like to design things out properly so my basic user specification is defined as

* at least triple the Ah capacity - so approx. 19-20 Ah in total
    * utilise existing 6.5 Ah battery so approx. 13 Ah to be added
    * additional battery to be "plug in" so only added for longer trips
    * utilise stock BMS to charge auxiliary battery as well as stock battery

This will drive a few things in the design process

So far have worked out
    A) Aux. battery pack will need to be of same battery chemistry as stock battery ( Li Ion) and a 10S configuration to match stock battery
    B) Have selected 18650 Li Ion as the right type/size of cells
    C) Aux battery pack will need to be at least 13 Ah - so if use 4P configuration - leads to 3.25Ah for each cell . This is just within range of latest 18650 cells
    D) To use stock BMS - I will need to connect each 4P pack in aux. battery in parallel with each (1P) pack in stock battery. Based on research this does not appear to be a problem and the packs will current share based on capacity. This means 11 wires from aux. battery to connect to stock battery in a plug!